What does epa stand for in HVAC

Every group, association, or organization, has a governing body that sets rules or laws that regulate both the internal and external affairs of such association or organization. When there are rules, there are usually accompanying consequences for defaulters.

In HVAC, there is a body called EPA that monitors strictly, the compliance of HVAC technicians to the rules and regulations guiding the use of chemicals like refrigerants and others. I know you by now you must be eager to know “what does EPA stand for in HVAC?”; why don’t you keep reading this article till the very last paragraph to learn everything you need to know about EPA because that’s the rationale behind this overview.

What is EPA certification for HVAC

Every profession is inundated with quacks, accustomed to circumventing the conventional laid down procedures expected to be followed by every professional. In HVAC, there exists a body known as Environmental Protection that issues certificates to qualified HVAC technicians. These certificates are mandated by law and every technician working on your furnace or air conditioner must have it in their possession.

The most common certificate for HVAC is the EPA 608 certification and it is asserted at the federal level in the United States of America as it is included in section 608 of the clean air act. The law was promulgated by the environmental protection agency to ensure that everybody has equal access to clean air and water. And as a result, anybody that does maintenance, repairs, or disposal work on your HVAC systems must have such certification.

What EPA certification do I need for HVAC

The HVAC industry has established standards and rules any HVAC technician must adhere to before handling heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration equipment. It doesn’t matter whether you are already a rookie or a qualified technician: having anyone of these certificates will create an easy pathway for success. Some of the HVAC certificates include:

North American Technician Excellence (NATE)

This organization offers certificates of excellence to people properly trained in specific areas of HVAC. The program for this certification ranges between 6 months to 1 year. This program offers aspiring technicians with less than 6 months of experience a “Ready to Work” certificate which allows them to work while undergoing the training program. For technicians with more experience, let’s say, 6 to 12 months can apply for the “HVAC Support Technician” Exam. At the end of the exam, successful candidates will be given a certificate.

HVAC Excellence

This organization conducts examinations for interested technicians and it offers certificates ranging from the primary level to the master level. They offer exams based on individual experience; each individual is tested in his field of experience.

EPA section 608 certification

This is the most crucial of all the certificates in HVAC. This is so because it is mandated by federal law to ensure that HVAC technicians comply with clean air act regulations. The environmental protection agency makes this certificate especially important for technicians handling refrigerants. The EPA certification will be awarded to successful candidates upon completion of a written examination to test their knowledge in the proper handling of refrigerants and also in line with the intentions of the government regulation to see that the environment stay protected against refrigerant pollution.

Generally, the type of equipment you handle will determine the category of exams that you are expected to take. A technician who takes a type I exam will be authorized to repair or maintain small equipment like refrigerators, freezers, and window air conditioners. Type II exam will authorize technicians to replace and service air conditioners with high pressure and heating units. While type III certification will allow technicians to handle equipment with low pressure for example Chiller units. However, if you intend to handle all types of equipment, you should consider obtaining a universal certification that will allow you to work with all types of refrigerants.

What does section 608 certification allow a technician to do

A technician with section 608 certification will be authorized to provide services like; Motor vehicle air conditioners (MVACs), and replacement of appliances other than small appliances which may include; appliances that are fully charged or hermetically sealed from the factory with refrigerant less than or exactly 5 pounds.

HVAC EPA certification cost

For HVAC EPA certification, the cost for type 1 exam taken online is $24.5 while types II, III and universal exams taken at approved test centers cost $120.

For North America Technical Excellence exams, interested technicians will have to pay $24.95 for the test taken online and at certified test centers.

To sit for Refrigeration service engineers society (RSES) exams, interested technicians will have to pay $25 to $30 for exams taken at RSES centers and pay an additional $128 for membership.

How to get HVAC EPA certification

To get an HVAC EPA certificate, interested technicians must take certification exams. Candidates will have to answer 80 questions that must be answered within 3 hours, and candidates must score at least 70% of the total score to pass the exam and must pay a token of 120$.

How to verify EPA certification

To verify whether you have been certified, follow the process highlighted below.

  1. Visit the EPA website.
  2. Log into your certification account with your social security number and last name; then select “secure login” to take you to the next stage.
  3. Check your certification and exam records by clicking on the link, then print out your temporary certification card.
  4. On your PC screen you will see a link that says “order certification supplies” click on it to request a new permanent card.

How long does EPA certification last

Fortunately, EPA certification lasts for life. However, if you happen to misplace your card, you may have to sit for another exam.

How many questions are on the EPA certification test?

Each section of the EPA test has 25 questions and candidates must score at least 18 to pass the test.

How hard is EPA 608 test

EPA test is not hard; although you might have to hone your memorization skill to excel. All in all, you just have to prepare like you would when going for school exams.

How many times can you take EPA 608 test

There’s no stipulated number of times technicians can retake failed exams. Technicians can retake exams until they pass: however if you retake an exam, you will have to pay another fee.

Can you take the EPA 608 test online

Yes, you can take EPA 608 test online. However, if you are working with appliances with more than 5 pounds of refrigerant, you will have to take proctored exams.

More resources:

You may also like